Branch News & Events

Check back for Tech Savvy 2022 at UW-Whitewater.

2021 Used Book Sale Is Back!

Where: Fort Atkinson Municipal Building.

When: September 17 & 18, 2021.


This Year AAUW Awards $19,500 in Scholarships
The Fort Atkinson Branch of AAUW awarded eight scholarships to women studying for vocational/technical, undergraduate and graduate degrees. Since 1984 AAUW has awarded 179 tuition scholarships totaling $330,550. This year 37 women applied for four different scholarships. Scholarships will be presented to eight women totaling $19,500 for the 2020-21 school year. Since 1986 the Fort Atkinson AAUW has awarded $330,050 in local scholarships.
Two students were chosen to receive Second Chance Scholarships and will receive a total of $9,000. Courtney Kreger was awarded $6,000 to complete studies as a veterinary technician at Madison College. Tylynn Vidar will complete her nursing studies at Madison College this year and was awarded a $3,000 tuition scholarship.
This year there are two scholars receiving an Adopt-A-Student Scholarship. Alexa Blank is enrolled at UW-Whitewater to study psychology and work towards a degree in school counseling. Alexa received a $1,250 scholarship. Lillian Gomez will attend UW-Stout working toward a BS in computer science. She also received a $1,250 scholarship. The Jane Shaw Knox Adopt-A-Student Scholarships totaled $2,500.
The Jane Shaw Knox Graduate Scholarship was awarded to four recipients, totaling $8,000. Michele Coleman received $2000 to attend the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine to obtain a Doctor of Public Health. Richelle Rottmann will attend UW-Whitewater studying for a MS in counseling, and was awarded $2000. Amber Foerster will receive $2000 to also attend UW-Whitewater working toward certification in school psychology. Megan Wallace was awarded $2000 to study law at Marquette University Law.
AAUW promotes equity for all women and girls, lifelong education, and positive societal change. Women returning to college to complete a degree are encouraged to complete the online application for the 2021-22 school year. The application process is available at or the from
December 1, 2020 to April 1, 2021.

Abigale Bolton and Angela Szabo Receive AAUW Grants for Gals Scholarships
Abigale Bolton and Angela Szabo have been awarded $500 each by the Fort Atkinson branch of AAUW, Grants for Gals Scholarship Fund.
Bolton is a 2017 graduate of Fort Atkinson High School. Her award will assist as she attends an administrator course offered by the Wisconsin Assisted Living Association (WALA) to help advance her career as a Program Manager at Brotoloc South Inc.
Szabo has been an educator within the Fort Atkinson School District since 2011. She will use this award to help pursue her National Board Certification as a teacher.
Grants for Gals is a non-traditional scholarship offered by members of the Fort Atkinson Branch of AAUW. It was established with the Fort Atkinson Community Foundation in 2019 to provide a scholarship to local girls and women to help meet an educational, cultural or professional advancement need. To learn more about this scholarship or to give a donation, please visit or

Work Smart:  AAUW presents a free online salary negotiation course (approximately one hour) to acquire fair and equal pay. Recognize your own self-worth and get the tools you need to successfully negotiate and close the pay gap! Go to

All AAUW members are encouraged to take the online Work Smart course. Invite your family, friends and colleagues to take Work Smart online. Empower the women (and men) in your life to negotiate for fair and equal pay.